Natural Resources

Fall 2011 Natural Resources Law Class at UB

Does the very presence of people in the wilderness mean that its not wilderness anymore? October 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — justinemmiller @ 5:31 am

I thought about this discussion in class in the context of my outdoor experiences. I had always thought of canoeing and camping and to be “low impact” activities on the environment, however when thought about in a larger context, they probably do affect plant and animal life.

But, if human presence means that it isnt “wilderness” anymore, then humans cant really experience wilderness at all.

I know to me it sure seems like wilderness paddling down a creek or camping in the woods, but really is it?

I think it depends on the extent of the human activity in the area, and the density of the people, but that is just my opinion.

It could be that  I am just reluctant to admit that just by being there I am messing it up somehow.

I guess wilderness must be a more relative idea than I realized in the past.

Our personal definitions probably depend on how “deep” into the wilderness we’ve gone before.

 

 

One Response to “Does the very presence of people in the wilderness mean that its not wilderness anymore?”

  1. Kristen Cushman-Smith Says:

    Good Morning,

    I agree, our discussion in class was very vague. I mean I haven’t been to many wilderness areas but I had a thought, that we are animals too, at the most basic level. Every animal leaves a little mark on the physical areas it comes in contact with but maybe the “wilderness” is where animals including us are attempting to leave as little a mark as possible?


Leave a Reply

